Gone Girl – Book Review (maybe some slight spoilers)

Gone GirlI have been picking up and putting down Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn for months now every time I go into the bookstore.  It was really one of those books that I wanted to read, but I’ve been putting off buying it until it comes out in paperback.  I didn’t know much about it, except that it was a mystery.  Also that it was very popular and I was sure I wanted to read it.

I was browsing through the selections available through my library on my iPad’s handy dandy Overdrive app, and saw that it was there.  It also showed that the hold list was 163 people long.  So just for fun, I clicked on it and became 164.  Sure enough, about a week or so ago, I got an e-mail that I could “check out” my selection.  So I got clicking and I got reading.

This book is a mystery.  I’ll start off by saying that I thought it was really good.  The story is about Nick, who comes home on his 5th wedding anniversary to find his wife Amy missing, and the living room looking like there had been foul play.  It definitely looked like Amy was taken from the house unexpectedly, between the state of the living room and the iron being left on, etc.

The police are called, and it of course doesn’t take long for the case to become that of national headlines, and for Nick to become the prime suspect.  The book switches back and forth between Nick’s point of view and diary entries that were written by Amy – 7 years worth of diary entries, all leading up to the point where she was gone from the house.

This book is somewhat of a roller coaster.  It leads you to believe several things.  At the beginning of the book when Nick got home and found his wife gone, I thought based on his reaction that there was no way he could have had anything to do with her disappearance.  But then reading Amy’s diary entries, I start to wonder.  It is obvious that their marriage was far from perfect, and that both of these people were very odd.  Something was not quite right about either of them.

This book had me hooked.  I was reading  and reading, waiting to find out what the hell happened, and then when I finally figured out what had happened, I kept reading to find out what the hell was going to happen next.  The power in the book shifted so many times, I literally had no idea how it would ultimately turn out.

Then it ended.

If I ended my blog post right now, that would be a small indication of how I felt when I realized that this book was done.  There was no closure, no explanation, nothing.  I know that this might be considered a cliffhanger, but I considered myself slightly cheated.  I felt like I had been running through this forest, over and under branches, through the mud, swinging on vines, desperate to get through to the other side.  Then about 50 feet from where the forest ended, I tripped over a bag of potatoes that somebody had left there, and fell.  And then I stayed there for all eternity.  I don’t get up, I don’t know if I broke anything, I don’t get to leave the forest, I don’t find out if there’s civilization on the other side.  Just laying there, facedown in the mud.  Forever.  Slightly dramatic I know, but COME ON!

I suppose that my dramatic reaction is saying something.  I was invested enough in this story to want to know what happened to the characters.  I wanted to see people get what they deserved.  I wanted questions answered.

Maybe I’ll write some fan fiction some day and tie up all the loose ends.

Overall, this book was a solid 4 stars.  Maybe 5.  Because of the ending, I made it a 3 on Goodreads.

Have you read Gone Girl?  Did you like it? Hate it?  Please feel free to comment below.  Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

